Case Management Society of America

Resources: Public Policies and Standards

michigan map

Practice Standards - The Standards of Practice for Case Management provides voluntary practice guidelines for the case management industry. The Standards of Practice are intended to identify and address important foundational knowledge and skills of the case manager within a spectrum of case management practice settings and specialties. The most recent standards reflect many changes in the industry, which resonate with current practice today. Read the CMSA Standards

Public Policy - CMSA's Public Policy Division serves to represent member interests on issues affecting care management professionals and their patient's wellbeing. CMSA Policy

To share information with our members, or if you are interested in joining this committee, please contact:
Sharon Berlin @ or
Sharon Rubick @

Transitions of Care - The National Transitions of Care Coalition is dedicated to addressing a serious U.S. health care issue: filling the gaps that occur when patients leave one care setting and move to another care setting. These transitions include patients moving from primary care to specialty physicians; moving or transferring patients from the emergency department to intensive care or surgery; and when patients are discharged from the hospital to home, assisted living arrangements, or skilled nursing facilities. NTOCC - National Transitions of Care Coalition

The following links contain helpful information for case managers.

features links to a collection of over 100 case management resources, including white papers, journal articles, and websites that care management professionals will find useful in their practice.

The Brain Injury Association of Michigan is a non-profit organization that brings together people with brain injury, their families, friends, and concerned professionals to improve the quality of life that people experience after brain injury.

The Case Management Society of America is an international, non-profit organization founded in 1990 dedicated to the support and development of the profession of case management through educational forums, networking opportunities and legislative involvement.

The CDMSC is the only nationally accredited and independent organization that certifies disability management specialists. Disability management specialists analyze, prevent and mitigate the human and economic impact of disability for employees and employers.

CCMC will help you to apply for and receive the Certified Case Manager (CCM) credential. Learn what the credential means to other case managers and how they measure its value.

The National Association of Social Workers (NASW) is the oldest and largest organization of professional social workers with 155,000 members; over 8,000 in Michigan. It serves members and advocates for sound social policy.